A throwback of sorts… The Buzzer Box!

Back when I was around 11, I strolled into a Radioshack and bought some wire, a buzzer, and a battery pack. I had a weird fascination with my elementary school’s fire alarm and wanted to recreate it. Completing the simple circuit by tapping wires together was enough to satisfy me until the project was lost. Fast forward about 15 years later, I’m revisiting the project that started it all.

20160320_125204

This circuit is slightly more complicated than the original, I’d say. I used a 555 timer to get the pulse that would buzz the buzzer on and off at roughly a 50% duty cycle. In the end, I ended up using 9v instead of the original 5v I had planned, but it worked just the same.

20160320_114828

The project was put into this small enclosure. I drilled a hole for the button that is pressed to activated the buzzer alarm.

20160320_115313

Here’s the circuit on a breadboard to test and experiment before soldering the circuit permanently.

20160320_123209

A close-up of the circuit on the perfboard.

20160320_123218

A close-up of my soldering.

20160320_123202

After soldering the components to the perfboard, I soldered the buzzer, battery, and switch into the circuit.

20160320_123905

After some musical chairs with the components, and then some hot glue, everything was set into the enclosure.

Here’s the Buzzer Box in action…

Who needs a life alert when you have this… thing… #diy #electronics #shittyrobots #buzzer #alarm

A post shared by Matt (@mwhprojects) on

It was a simple [and useless] project but I’m the kind of person that likes to revisit the past in ways like this.

Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

