The lamp that wasn’t meant to be

Some time ago, I bought a few WS2812B addressable RGB LED modules. I’m still committed to using them in the next Light Show, whenever I get around to designing and building the next one. In the meantime, I wanted to make a simple project to play around a little more with these LEDs.

I decided to make a makeshift lamp. The lamp would be controlled by at Attiny85 board with a few potentiometers to control the intensity of each color.IMG_20150627_201909 After many thought out cuts, I abandoned the project. It became apparent that it would just look too silly and be too large for my limited desk space. Pictured above is the post and the top that would hang out on the top to hold the LED module.

IMG_20150718_131232I still wanted to test the LED modules out with the Attiny85 to see for myself that they can work on the small microcontroller (in comparison to the Atmega328p/Uno). I used the Adafruit Neopixel library and a USBtinyISP to program it. The code wouldn’t upload unless I burned the bootloader to use the internal 8MHz clock instead of the 1MHz clock. Otherwise, it worked great.

I would still like to make a small project with these LED modules, outside of the Light Show project. I need to brainstorm a little more.

Thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “The lamp that wasn’t meant to be

  1. Have you seen those lamps for kids that Phillips is selling? There are a bunch of them and some feature color control. I gave one to my niece. Maybe I could make it more interesting using RGB LEDs…

    Like

    • I haven’t seen those but I’ve come across the full size RGB lightbulbs that Phillips sells, the “Hue”. From searching around, what you’re talking about looks like a sort of table-top spotlight kind of thing? Actually, since size was an issue for my experiment, I might just take some inspiration from those. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

