A push to get you working out of the box.

As you may know, I’ve been running a store on Tindie since early this year. I was experimenting with surface mount components when I started the store and pretty much all of my PCB designs started to include them. They save space but are more difficult to work with and use more resources (primarily flux, and time). Because it’s a lot for me to handle, I offer kits so people could assemble the board themselves, though I’d imagine some people are scared off by the surface mount components in the kits.

I know there are many skilled people browsing Tindie who are capable of putting it together, but I also want to attract beginners and casual hobbyists to my boards and get them working almost out of the box. I say almost because, even if the boards are assembled, they have to solder headers (or wires) to the board.

With all that said, I have a few things to share about my Tindie store.

The first thing is that, with the exception of the LED bar and the boards that don’t come with any components, I am working to assemble as many boards as I can. Currently, all of the boards that can come assembled have assembled boards in stock. Eventually, I’d like to phase out unassembled kits where I can but it won’t always be possible, especially when products are freshly restocked.

But that’s what I’ve been able to do with the Attiny85 Programmer & Breakout Board.

IMG_0001The current stock of Attiny85 boards is now all assembled. I’m also including headers as part of this product, since the board is designed to slot perfectly on the power rails and prototyping area on an 830-breadboard. I’m planning on getting a small stock of Attiny85’s which people can throw in their order for an additional cost.

The other news is that I’ve put in another order for PCBs. One of the PCBs ordered is the old 74HC595 Shift Register Board. I am considering starting selling them in packs of two or three, with somewhat of a bulk discount compared to the current price of one. They’re meant to be chained together, after all.

The other PCB coming soon is for a new product. I’ve dubbed it the LCD Helper, which is a board you solder onto an LCD and makes it easier to get started with. It has a potentiometer for contrast, as well as a breakout of the pins you actually use. I’ll have more details when they come in.

That’s it for now. Thanks for visiting the blog! On another note, I just got in the new water pumps but am still waiting for those WS2812 LED modules for the light show. There’s a new World of Color coming out this Friday that will probably inspire me to get back to work on the light show project!

Leave a Reply

