What’s going on?

Things have been fairly quiet in my “workshop”. There’s some things slowly going, but mostly I’m just sitting around waiting. Here’s what’s going on.


banner

My favorite website project has come online again! Check out Canada’s Wonderland Facts!

The website was last online in 2012. Since then, PHP and MySQL has changed so I spent a full day updating the code. Now, I’m just sort of catching up by updating and adding more content. There are still some functionality changes that I want to make eventually. I’ll probably get more motivation to do it as we move into the Wonderland season, which just began yesterday. I’m considering getting a domain name but I don’t want to buy one if I’m just going to give up on the website like I’ve done in the past. We’ll see how things roll.


IMG_0003

I’ve got new PCBs being manufactured¬†right now! I’ve gone back to basics with the ATmega328p Breakout Board with nothing but the breakout pins and only using through-hole components. I think these changes will make most makers more interested in it because it’ll be easier to assemble since the original had surface-mount components, and more components in total compared to this upcoming one.

I also put in another design to get manufactured that’s mostly for my own use. There’s some breakouts for 0805 and SOT-223 surface-mount components. I also finished a new voltage regulator design that uses the NCP1117 low-dropout regulator. I had ordered a small set of components for that board in my last Digikey order. I also have some AMS1117 regulators in hand, which is the reason for those 0805 and SOT-223 breakouts. I’m not quite sure if I will put those regulator boards up for sale but I like to use them in my own projects with 9v batteries.


None of my eBay orders have arrived just yet. To recap, some of the items coming in are for an update to the Light Show Project. I’m especially excited to try using WS2812 RGB LEDs for the first time. I can’t wait!


So that’s it for now. Thanks a lot for visiting! Good luck in all of your experiments and projects!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

