And now for something new! (Store blog category)

The blog’s viewship has already surpassed January, so we’re on our way to getting back to how it was at the old blog. This is mostly thanks to my ESP8266 project. I feel like I’ve been neglecting the blog because I haven’t had much to talk about in terms of new Arduino projects… That’s why I’m here to start a new blog category called Store, which will give you some insight on how my experience selling my products online is like, which is what has been taking up all of my time. Sorry if you’re not into big walls of text, but I hope to include pictures where ever I can.

Not too long ago, I decided to take designing circuit boards more seriously so I could start an online store. Since then, I’ve listed some of these boards on Tindie, as well as some used parts from my PLC trainer on eBay. The money raised by the sales on eBay is going directly toward the development of a couple products that will be hitting Tindie in the coming weeks. Planning it all, even though it doesn’t seem like a lot, has taken up a lot of my time, which is why all of my Arduino projects have taken a backseat.

I’ve raised just enough money so far to cover the costs of doing a relatively small run of some new boards. They are the second revisions of my Attiny85 Programmer and Breakout board, and my Atmega328p Breakout Board. They both got some important changes. They’re both manually routed and include a power LED indicator. They also include ISP headers for advanced users with their fancy 6-pin ISP cables (but you can still use jumper wires). Most of the components have changed to SMD.

alone

The Atmega328p Breakout now breaks out the Reset pin where you can easily add in an external button. It covers two pads so you basically want to short the connection, using a button or switch, to reset the microcontroller. It’s slightly more friendly than the single Reset pin like on the Arduino.

Like I said before, the boards are also getting power indicator LEDs and ISP headers, which you can see in the top left corner of the board. Originally, I left that area open because my AMS1117 voltage regulator was supposed to line up with the input power pins of this board but it didn’t work out right.

alone

The Attiny85 Programmer & Breakout sticks to its roots as being a simple-to-use programmer, so it still includes a section that tells you what pins to connect to the Arduino, in addition the new ISP header. The size is also much smaller and is designed to fit into a breadboard (830 point, and similar) where the input power pins fit into the power rails of the breadboard, and the Program and Breakout pins fit into the prototyping area of the breadboard. The ISP header is typically sticking out from the top so it shouldn’t interfere with this plan.

That’s it for now! These boards should be ready sometime near the middle or end of March. Fingers crossed it all goes well!

Leave a Reply

