Progress on the internet

IMG_0001Remember that New Years Resolution post I made that talks about getting my Box project on the internet? I decided to do it.

I actually purchased a DS18B20 temperature sensor for the wifi project but it hasn’t arrived yet. I decided to take the old Box project apart and get the DHT22 temperature and humidity sensor out of it. I’ll probably keep the incoming temperature sensor for something else since this doesn’t need it anymore.IMG_0003I’m thankful past me used a socket for the ATmega328p microcontroller as I was able to recover it, along with the real time clock and the LCD. For whatever reason, the real time clock started to lag and is now like 15 minutes behind. I’ll have another use for it eventually.IMG_0002I added the DHT22 sensor alongside the photoresistor I was using before as a test. With some code modifications, I got it to send all three pieces of data.
graphs You can view my Thing Speak channel here. I’m still playing around with the hardware configuration so sometimes the graphs show some weird values. I also don’t leave it powered overnight at this point. I’d like to package up the hardware so that it can be a little more portable. Like I said in the previous post, I’d like to use my custom PCBs (ATmega328p and AMS1117 voltage regulators) with the wifi module. They will help with bringing down the size of it.sunsetThere’s one satisfying graph. This is the light in my room as the sun was setting. The jump at the end is when I turned on the room light. It’s pretty cool to see how consistent the room light is, and how much natural light varies.

One last thing: I’m finally on GitHub. You can get the code for this project from there. It took me a while to get on it because I always found it easier to just throw things on Dropbox and share files that way. People are very interested in the code for this so I finally took the plunge and got on GitHub. I’m thinking of putting some of my Eagle files on there too. It’s good motivation to take documenting my code more seriously.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

