Hello Internet! I have a Thing!

IMG_0001Just before Christmas, I ordered a bunch of things off of eBay, the most interesting being this ESP8266 “Serial to Wireless Internet” module. It’s the first thing to arrive so I was excited to get it working, even though the temperature sensor I bought for it hasn’t arrived yet.IMG_0005Because of the way the pins are on the module, you can’t plug it into the breadboard directly. I put together this adapter so that it would fit.IMG_0004I like how small it is. It’s kind of cute.IMG_0007After some tinkering with the code, I got the readings of a photoresistor up on Thing Speak. I put it on a seperate breadboard father away so that the shadows from the rest of the hardware wouldn’t affect the readings. Whenever my temperature sensor arrives, the data going online will be a bit more interesting. I’m thinking about how I can get it outside but I’ll speak to that a little later. I also have plans to use one of my ATmega328p breakout boards and AMS1117 boards (thankful now that I put a 3.3v regulator on it) to free up the Uno.thingspeak

This is a screenshot of the readings last night with the room light on. With the room light on, it was steady around 700. When I turned off the light, it dropped down to under 50. In the daytime with sunlight coming through the window, it’s up to around the same range. It’s interesting to compare between the brightness of a lightbulb and natural light… though I think seeing the temperature through the day, even indoors, will be more interesting. I can’t wait!

You can download the code I’m currently using here.

Here are the articles I used to get it up and running:

Getting Started with ESP8266 WiFi Transceiver (Review)

ESP8266 Wifi Temperature Logger

IoT Datalogger with ESP8266 WiFi Module and FRDM-KL25Z

Thanks for reading! Stay tuned for the temperature sensor!

One thought on “Hello Internet! I have a Thing!

  1. Hi!
    I’m trying to do a weather station, as you, but I have some troubles with my ESP8266, I need to fix it.
    I would like to know if you could help me with relly specif details.

    Like

Leave a Reply

