74HC595 Shift Register Board Revision B Preview

I said when the year began that I wanted to get back into Eagle and revisit some of my PCB designs, as well as start some new ones. My first project for the year in Eagle is giving some attention to my 74HC595 Shift Register Board. The original version, even with its flaws, was used in the latest Light Show to help control 10 RGB LEDs. It worked out quite well but, again, it had its flaws. I’d love to have a revised board in my hand by the time I’m ready to go back to the Light Show.

sch1

This is the new schematic for the board. It includes a breakout of the Output Enable pin which gives you some PWM control. Using this pin will PWM all outputs over the two shift registers (16 outputs), so my idea is to chain three together so I can dedicate each board to a color (red, green, blue). Of course, it’s not as flexible as something like the TLC5940 which has 16 channels you can PWM individually, but it’s cheaper…

Anyways, if the application doesn’t need PWM, I added another ground pin next to the OE pin so you can just connect them together. When you do that, the outputs have no PWM control. The first version of the board had the OE pin already connected to ground in the schematic.

brd

Admittedly, my first PCBs were auto-routed as I was just getting acquainted with Eagle. I’m still learning but I managed to route this one manually. There seems to be a lot of technicalities on what you should and should not do when laying out a board but I don’t think my design is too much off what the auto router would have done. I tried the auto-router earlier and it did some really odd looking turns and loops around pads… Anyways, it’s just like solving a puzzle, though it takes me a few tries to get it right.

If you’re interested in buying these boards, let me know. I’m trying to decide on how many to get made.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

