DIY LED Bargraph

I’m planning on revisiting my 74HC595 shift register boards in Eagle soon. One of the things I want to add in the next revision is a breakout to the Output Enable pin which allows you to have some PWM control. I never tried it before so I started setting it up to test it. I don’t have any larger breadboards available so I had to use a mini-breadboard. I didn’t like having to lay out the LEDs and resistors, especially on these smaller breadboards, so I put together a line of LEDs on a perfboard. I didn’t bother going on eBay to buy some of those LED bargraph DIPs because I bought a bunch of things on eBay over the holidays so I didn’t want to waste any more time or money.IMG_0001Anyways, here it is connected to a shift register. The PWM worked just fine, though I think it may have looked better on a different color.IMG_0003I already had this piece of perfboard sitting around so I’m pretty happy that the design is pretty optimized. Everything fits on the board without too much wasted space. The 8 pin female header leads to the anodes of each LED and the single female header on the right is connected to all of the cathodes of the LEDs.
IMG_0004Soldering didn’t go too smoothly because I need to find a better tip for my iron. The one I used was a conical tip which doesn’t transfer the heat very well. I have another tip with a flat edge, but the edge is too wide for my liking.

Anyways, that’s it for this quick show-and-tell. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

