Light Show 7 Journal Entry #6: Who needs metal when you’ve got cardboard?

As I mentioned in the previous entry, I needed to raise the backdrop so that it sits at the height of the basin for the fountains. I also talked about “sourcing materials” which was mostly about finding a cardboard box for the set of towers to sit on. I didn’t have one handy so I decided to just construct a frame out of cardboard.IMG_0410This is the platform I made. The little platform at the back is for the breadboard.IMG_0411I thought I may have needed some more feet but it holds up well as it is. I’m starting to run low on this cardboard material so I didn’t want to make more square tubes for bracing, but the diagonal bent pieces I put in the middle do help make it more rigid.
IMG_0412I’m actually surprised at how well it turned out. I do want to waterproof the feet in case the water from the fountains wets the floor. I can just wrap them in plastic wrap or something. The plan is to have this some distance away from the fountains so hopefully the water won’t get to it.

IMG_0414The little platform at the back is suspended out with no feet under it, but the tape and hot glue is holding it in place just fine. The Uno is there just for testing purposes.IMG_0419This last picture is somewhat of a teaser of what’s to come. I made these for the first fountain show but they never made it into the final build. These servos will be included in this new Light Show.

So what’s next? The fountains have been sitting in a heap, but everything is still connected to the Mega. I’ll spend some time sorting out the wiring, mounting the fountains to the basin again, and then do some testing. I took off the nozzles (the drinking straws…) so getting some new ones on there will probably take the most time like it did the last time. After that, we can start to bring everything together. My deadline to get this together is by the end of next week so I have a full week to program.

Leave a Reply

