The towers have returned

In version 3 of the Arduino Light Show Project, I constructed a backdrop with some cardboard and tissue paper. I made towers out of the cardboard but kept one side open and used tissue paper to diffuse light from an RGB LED inside of each tower. I hadn’t started using version numbers for the light show then so my working title for that version was “Towers Light Show” which was reflected in the names for related files (pictures and code). The towers backdrop idea will return for the next light show but in a much more simple form.

In my previous post regarding the new light show, I talked about how the planning for the backdrop was going and ended that post with a bit of a teaser. I guess it’s a bit misleading since I don’t think I’m going to end up using that prop in the show or even in an experiment right now. The idea was a plain flat backdrop with protruding shapes with LED backlights so that the shapes would have kind of a glow. I decided not to bother with the idea right now since I came up with something a little easier for me to construct.

rgbtowersThis is the result of my light test. The tower is about 17cm or 6.7″ tall. I do expect them to be taller in the final build. Moving the LED a distance from the tower allows it the light to cover all of the tower face which was an issue with the first backdrop test. I couldn’t do the same thing with that backdrop because the light from the LEDs would be interfering/mixing with each other. With 7 separate towers, I can space them out so that there wouldn’t be much light mixing together on the towers, or at least that’s the theory.

I’m set on this plan because I have the materials for it (at least, after I order some more RGB LEDs). I have a few other tricks up my sleeve but they shouldn’t be too complicated (they’re things taken from previous version of the light show). Pretty much the last thing I need to figure out is if and where I should use my shift register boards. I think the Mega should have enough pins, but I haven’t checked. I’ll get on that so I can draw out a master plan on paper.

I hope to get started on the build very soon. BTW, this will be Light Show 7! Stay tuned for updates!

Leave a Reply

