Chinese Power Adapter Teardown

IMG_0198I got this power bank yesterday from China. Obviously it’s not a Samsung product but the power bank does seem to work fine. I wanted to make sure that it wasn’t connecting to data so I sliced the cable open. It only connects the power wires, thankfully. I bought a cheap USB voltage and current measurement tool on eBay but it won’t be here for a long while, especially with their national holiday. I’d like to measure the current coming out of the outputs.IMG_0187Anyways, it came with this really sketchy power adapter. The USB slot is like a half USB slot where your plug doesn’t fit in all the way or latch in properly. You can also feel the assembly was loose inside of it by just shaking it. I was definitely not planning on using the plug so I decided to open it up and see what was inside.IMG_0188Three sides of the front plate were already loose. I just had to slide a knife down the fourth side and a quick tug on the plug popped the assembly out.IMG_0189There’s a transistor between the transformer and a capacitor but there’s barely enough space for it so they put it on an angle. For whatever reason, the other transistor nearby is also at an angle and they’re both pushing over another capacitor. I thought it looked funny.
IMG_0190Dave from the EEVBlog explains in a video what’s crap about it, more than I ever could, but it was interesting to look at one myself.
IMG_0199Here’s a closer look at one of the boards.

So yeah… I’m not expert enough to rip on the board, but anyone can point out it’s a piece of junk just by holding the thing.

Leave a Reply

