Attiny85 PCB Rev B Preview

Moving along with some revisions to my first two PCB designs, I’m working on some changes to the Attiny85 programmer & breakout board. The following is sort of a mock up as I’m just trying to figure out the form of the board right now.

1So the first thing that you’ll notice is that it’s not a square. It has rounded corners this time! But really, the form of the board has changed a lot. I want to design it so that you can break off the programming area when you’re ready to use the board in your project. The benefit to that is the breakout takes up less space in your project… and it’s kind of neat, IMO.

Something else I did new this time is that this board is actually completely manually routed. I’ve relied mostly on the autorouter up to this point. The Design Rule Check isn’t coming up with any errors so that’s positive.

Some parts should be coming in any day now that will let me assemble and sell the first version of the Attiny85 Programmer & Breakout on eBay, along with the other things I’m currently selling. People buying them will show me how much interest there is in this kind of thing. I really like this design I’m going for so hopefully there’s enough interest to get the new version manufactured when it’s ready (Rev A buyers may get a discount). Stay tuned! Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

