All dried up

It’s always a little depressing having a project at a standstill. Right now, for me, that would be my fountain project.

IMG_20140903_111805Have I given up? No, I don’t think so. I’m sitting on more ideas, but they’re just ideas until I actually start. I’m not exactly sure how to start, and I’ve also been preoccupied with my website, store, and PCBs. But let’s not get sidetracked here.

I’ve always tried to be secretive in my plans, mostly so I don’t disappoint myself if something doesn’t work out the way I planned. I’ve been sitting on this idea for a while now so I might as well just share it.

I want to create a waterfall backdrop, illuminated by a row of LEDs at the base, with three fountains in the forefront as the main focus on the stage. The waterpumps supposedly have a “head height” of just over a meter, which is taller than the waterfall I’m thinking, though I don’t think the flow rate of one pump would be good enough so I’d use two. I forgot to take measurements of the fountains, but I don’t think they reach any higher than about 20cm so the backdrop won’t be much taller than that. I’m having trouble finding materials for an elevated basin with a lip to create a smooth waterfall. That’s going to be the next experiment whenever this project takes off.

Leave a Reply

