Come in, we’re open! (Updates on everything)

I’ve got a few things going on at the moment so I wanted to organize my thoughts in a post.

The Store

A couple days ago, I opened up a “store” selling the Attiny85 Programmer and Breakout PCB internationally. I’ve now expanded it so that Canadians can purchase an assembled board! Check out the purchase page here. The reason it’s only offered to Canadians is because of shipping. I hope to eventually ship assembled boards internationally, but I’m taking baby steps with this.

I want to expand the store to include other items because I have some parts that I never used that I’d like to sell. I want to do it independently of eBay and other sites like that because of their fees, which are on top of the PayPal one.

The PCBs

I went ahead and ordered a new set of PCBs. These PCBs are an Atmega328p breakout and an ASM1117 voltage regulator (3.3v & 5v) that I showed in the last post. I tend to sit on purchases like this for too long so I thought I’d just do it. They’re already at the board house being manufactured so hopefully it won’t be too long of a wait. What pushed me are the facts that I already have the components to assemble both and because of the store idea.

The Fountain Show

As with every Light Show to date, I always reach a point where I have no motivation to do a new show and/or I have a bunch of different ideas for it. I already feel these things.

My biggest issue is that I don’t like working in my basement because it’s dark and there’s bugs… It’s hard to focus down there. I’ve always been fearful that bugs will crawl into the stage when I leave it there for the night because it’s a damp thing sitting in the dark. Even though I cover it up, one bug so far has managed to get in. It’s covered up more tightly at this moment, but the nozzles are damaged…

As the stage sits now, there’s not a lot I can do to make a new show that’s different enough from the first show. That’s always the challenge which is why I end up adding something soon after one or two shows. I had some ideas for additions, but with my imperfect nozzle design, I feel like it’s not worth adding on to the current stage with its problems. I’m going back to the drawing board and starting from scratch… Stay tuned.

EDIT: Web Hosting

Yesterday, I decided to take a look at free web hosting options to move some of my external websites (listed on the side bar) out of Google Drive, in case Google Drive suddenly decides not to allow web hosting. The new Drive look also is unfriendly to it.

I found a host that seems to be holding up well. I hope to have my online store up on the new host first, and then migrate all of my existing sites over to it. I’ve been thinking of rebranding to MWH-Electronics but I don’t want to break any links so the WordPress blog will probably forever stay as asimowalk5. Existing and new external sites will go under than name I guess.

Leave a Reply

