AMS1117 + Atmega328p PCB update

combinedI’ve combined the two designs I was working on. The top is the Atmega328p breakout and the bottom is the ASM1117 voltage regulator that outputs 5v and 3.3v. I ordered some parts for this board as there is a sale on at Dipmicro. I’m excited to try SMT soldering with my iron. I need to do some last minute checks on the board to make sure the connections are correct. I’m also waiting for my first boards to come in so I can make adjustments based on those if necessary.

This board includes some things I don’t think I did right in my first PCB. The board has rounded corners, which is not really fixing a problem but it is something new I’m trying. I also went with a small tab between the two boards with some small drilled holes to help make the break a little easier. I’m not sure how the first boards are going to turn out but I’m fairly certain the slot I made in it is not going to be what I was hoping for. Anyways, the last thing is that I didn’t make the top and bottom layers that cover the board part of the ground plane. I’m not sure if that’s really a mistake or not but I know it does help manufacture the board faster (instead of scrapping off everything but the traces) and takes away some traces, as well as some good electrical side effects like helping with interference and noise.

I will be receiving the parts for the boards in this post so expect a mailbag post soon!

Leave a Reply

