Eagle PCB Experiments: Regulator and ATmega328p

As I wait for my first PCBs to come in, I’ve been trying to keep busy in Eagle. As I said before, the first PCBs that come in will teach me a lot, mostly about sizing and spacing. I hope I’m not being mislead too much with the design blown up on my screen.

Anyways, I’ve been working on two designs that will fit on one 5x5cm board. These designs are meant to work together but will be separate, much like my first PCBs.

1The first design is a voltage regulator that will produce fixed 5v and 3.3v outputs. This design uses SMT parts to keep it small, instead of using LM7805 through-hole voltage regulators. I did do it a couple of times in college but we used actual solder paste (no stencil) and a toaster oven. I will have to use my soldering iron this time which may or may not turn out to be a complete disaster. We’ll see.

Quick note, it’s actually AMS1117. I keep mixing it those letters. It’s since been fixed on the board.1Anyways, the regulator is to be used with this ATmega328p breakout board. Using the same terminal block components for 5v out on the ASM1117 board and the Vin for the ATmega328p board, you could solder them together with a male/male header if you chose to use the regulator for the ATmega328p board. I kind of want to add 5v out pins on the ATmega328p breakout board but I want to keep it small. The space beside Vin is so the other half of the regular board has somewhere to go and possibly some text so I can’t really put it there. Again, we’ll see. These designs are still in the making and won’t be sent off until I can see how the first ones turned out.

Leave a Reply

