Arduino Light Show 3: ShiftPWM Test

Planning for my new Arduino Light Show, now into its third version, has begun! 1I decided to try something new to get more RGB LEDs into the show. I followed this tutorial to set up 8 RGB LEDs.3The circuit wasn’t very hard to set up. Other than some colors being accidentally swapped, I didn’t run into any issues with it.2I think this really sets this next light show up for some really good sequences. The plan is to expand the number of RGB LEDs driven by this method to 16. This is in addition to the 70 pins available to me on the Arduino Mega, 12 of which are PWM (allows for fading and dimmed LEDs).

Here’s a quick clip of the rainbow sequence that’s included in the shiftPWM library:

I’m still working on the stage plan. I want to keep it somewhat simple but I also want it to look impressive. It’ll be a while. In the meantime, check out my previous shows.

Leave a Reply

