Christmas Arduino light show coming tomorrow

As it looks right now, the Christmas Arduino light show will debut tomorrow.

It’s been a rough ride. Even though I really enjoyed how the stage came together, I found it to be a struggle to keep patterns fresh. That’s why the original 6 minute soundtrack got chopped multiple times down to a 2 minute mix of songs that should not be together. I gave up half way through the first song but I kept the first little bit of it because I didn’t want it to go to waste. It sets up a really weird tone to the show, but it is what it is. The reason the song selection is so strange is because traditional Christmas songs are just too gentle and I wanted strobes and racing LEDs and chaos. With the movement in what is the post-show, I still count it as part of the show so it’s still as long as the first generation light shows (the ones before the Halloween special). You’ll understand tomorrow…

I’m not sure where to go next with this project. I’m leaning toward destroying it and trying something different again, but I did that the last time and it took me months to get back to doing something with my LEDs… I’ll decided soon enough.

The extra feature I wanted to add was the illuminated words “Happy Holidays” above the stage which would get focus in the post-show. I scrapped that plan pretty quickly when I actually tried making it.

I hope you’ll take a couple minutes to enjoy the show tomorrow. Here are a few pictures from the final show:

IMG_20131122_170044 IMG_20131122_170103 IMG_20131122_170232

Leave a Reply

