Where I sit in the war of smartphones

DSC03994

With Apple’s keynote tomorrow to announce some things, and with me missing it (because I’m out tomorrow, but also because it’s probably Mac-only again to view it), I thought it would be fun to weigh in on this smartphone war upon us. It seems like everyone has chosen a side: Android, Apple, Windows, or Blackberry.

The picture in this post is from the day I upgraded from my Nokia 5800 to my Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket/LTE. I think it’s quite obvious which side I’m on. When I activated my first Android smartphone, I moved my email and calendar over to Google. Over time, I started to embrace the new things they were coming out with.

The only Apple product I’ve ever owned was an iPod Touch about four years ago (I can’t remember which generation, maybe third). I liked it since it was the only smart and new device I had at the time. I used it daily. While I had some good games going on it, I used it mostly for travelling with music, so since I could do that with my new phone (which was marketed as a music-focused device), I didn’t see the need to carry an additional device.

Fast forward to May 2012 when I get my new Android device. Even though the next generation of the Galaxy phone would come out literally a week or so later, the hardware has lasted over a year now. I’m rooted and running Android 4.3. There are things I’ve gotten used to on this Android phone that I take for granted while my friends with Apple devices complain about certain things (iTunes syncing, file management, etc).

One of those tech YouTubers made a good point in saying that Apple is more of a design company than a tech company. It’s so true. I mean, if you want a device that looks nice and just works, Apple is your best bet. But if you like customization (with risks depending how you go about it) and having more hardware choices, Android is waiting for you.

And while we’re at it, if you like physical keyboards, Blackberry. That’s it for that.

Now about Windows phone… I’ve always been curious about that OS. It looks smooth and fluid, but I’ve gotten used to Android’s customization and the more populated ecosystem. I’m not a huge fan of the live tiles, even though I like the Windows 8 start menu. Maybe I’ll be more interested in a few years when more apps make it into the store. Right now, it brings back memories of going into the Nokia store when I had the 5800 and seeing nothing but silly change-your-voice apps.

On the topic of Windows phones [and tablets], I can’t stand their commercials that make fun of the Apple vs Android war or comparing their products to everything else. I wish they’d take a moment to focus on their products by themselves. If they can’t sell their product like that, then they need to come up with something more eye-catching.

So that’s what I’ve got to say about smartphones. I can only wonder how this will be different 5 years from now.

Leave a Reply

