Banshee @ Kings Island

My first coaster post here, and it’s not even about my home park. Go figure.

After all of the buzz in the past few weeks about what was going on at Kings Island in Mason, Ohio, the details of their new coaster was finally revealed tonight at an unconventional press conference. Banshee, the world’s longest inverted roller coaster, will open in April next year. Even though it’s most likely (like 99.9%) I won’t ride it any time soon, I’m still super excited for them. I loved following all of the Paramount Parks as a kid, and I can’t help but continue under Cedar Fair’s care.

I can’t stop telling you how much I love the logo, even though I’m the worst at handling even slightly creepy things.

I was watching a live stream of the announcement and they really praised B&M as a company and for their reliable rides. Even though other parks have said the same, I can’t help but think it’s a jab toward Mondial and their Windseekers. Poor Windseeker.

Despite becoming sort of the cookie cutter entrance for new major rides, I really do like this style Cedar Fair has developed. A large planter with a sign, large plazas, and striking station buildings. Too bad the style didn’t come about in time for Behemoth and Diamondback, which got typical overhead signs at the entrance. I guess the Intimidators are really what got this large dedicated plaza idea going.

At first, I wasn’t too fond of the colors, but after seeing some of the promotional material, it makes a little more sense. The train color still kind of bugs me though.

So yeah, that’s all I’ve got to say on this now. Congrats, Kings Island!

Leave a Reply

