Elevator simulation

I haven’t touched PLC programming in months, so let’s go. I’m going with an elevator simulation. I did one before, but I made it out to be a simple elevator that just goes from the ground to one floor. I always thought of it as a loading bay elevator thing with a door.

Anyways, this will be a little more conventional. I’m simulating an elevator that services three floors. It can be controlled manually (maintenance mode) and automatically (public use). I usually try to spice things up by throwing “fault” situations in my programs. This time, the system will force the door and lift to be checked after an operating timer elapses. Since I lost those extra LEDs, I’ll be using blinking lights as additional indicators. For instance, a blinking Lift Motor Status light will mean it’s winching the cabin up, solid means winching it down, and off means it’s not moving. It saves a light by not separating up and down like I did with the first one.

Planning is everything for me. I quickly get lost in rungs of code because I lose track of what I’m doing. Here’s the documentation I have up to this point:

This is the front view of the control panel. Note that the “Clear Fault” is the inductive proximity sensor, so I’ll need proof I used a screwdriver to fix whatever cause the fault. 😉

panel

I haven’t done one of these flowcharts in a while so I thought I’d try making one for this program. There are errors on it right now, but you get the point. Like I said, I get lost in my code at times so hopefully I’ll put this flowchart to some good use. Previously, I used to type out how the process is supposed to go in a Word document (and I still may do that), but hopefully I’ll get used to using flowcharts which, in theory, should be easier to follow.

flowchartSo that’s all I have for you right now. Stay tuned for more!

Leave a Reply

