When the lights first appeared

2

The reason I bought my first Arduino was to make my computer programs jump out into the real world. In my programming classes, I was used to displaying numbers and text on the screen, and sometimes even using graphical simulators with images of lights, switches, and other I/O devices. At the time, I was mesmerized by the sights and sounds of World of Color at Disney California Adventure theme park (though I’ve never actually seen it in person). That was my inspiration for creating my own light show.

Like most of my cardboard and tape projects, nothing I ever make is really permanent. All of my LED configurations are done on a breadboard. Even in the earlier versions, I didn’t even clip down the legs of the LEDs! With everything on a breadboard, the physical layout of the LEDs can change so easily and it can expand what I can do in terms of different sequences that look good. The very first layout was a simple row of LEDs in groups of three, as seen in the following video.

I do apologize for the quality of basically everything in that video… The only reason it’s still up is so you can compare my first light show with my recent ones. The difference is quite nice.

In the next post, we’ll see the first upgrade of my little show. I plan to cover all of the upgrades and other notes by Thursday, before the debut of my newest show on friday (that shows off a new minor, yet very useful, modification!). Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

